Craig Ferguson: Recovering Alcoholic

Thomas, writer on the blog “the quiet voice”, recently posted some thoughts on alcohol and immorality.  It made me think of Craig Ferguson, host of the late night talk show “The Late Late Show” on CBS here in America.  I love comedians mostly for their courage and honesty and a few years ago Craig had a very honest moment with his audience about his problems with alcohol:

Some of my favorite quotes from the video:

I’ve been sober for 15 years, there is absolutely no way I have a drinking problem.  I don’t have a drinking problem!  I have a thinking problem.

I’m not advocating temperance.  I’m saying this is for me.  If I could drink I would drink, but I can’t.  You can say to me “drink responsibly”, and I’ll say “I’ll try”.  But I can’t.  Certain types of people can’t drink, I’m one of them.  You have to be responsible for your actions, sick or well.  You have to be responsible for your actions, you just have to be!  All of us are accountable.  It’s your responsibility to deal with the condition that you have in whatever way you can.

Craig’s final advice:

You can’t beat it with money.  If you could beat this rap with money, rich people wouldn’t die.  You can’t.  The only way I could deal with it is find other people who had similar experiences and talk to them.  It doesn’t cost anything.  It doesn’t cost a thing.

This is one of those YouTube videos that I keep coming back to over and over again because it is just so powerful and real and also full of good humor.  Craig could have just mocked Britney Spears and her antics and had a good laugh with the audience.  Instead he used her problems as a springboard to open up and share his very real struggles with alcoholism.  Well done Craig.

About SciAwakening

Blogging about religion, science, psychology, and whatever else is currently on my mind. http://ScientificAwakening.com

Posted on February 11, 2012, in Morality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I agree, I love how honest he is that he is incapable of remaining sober and that he must stay away from alcohol in order to live his life. There are myriad people who need to realize that same thing – that they are dependent on drinking and that they should stop.

    Great post, and thank you for commenting on mine and linking to it!

Please Share Your Thoughts

